Travelling by BC Ferries

As part of the BC Resident Assistance Program students aged 18 and under can travel for free on the following routes between their residence and school, as well as attend or participate in school and junior association education/sporting events.

  • Swartz Bay – Southern Gulf Islands
  • Horseshoe Bay - Bowen Island
  • Brentwood Bay - Mill Bay
  • Crofton – Vesuvius Bay (Salt Spring Island)
  • Chemainus – Thetis Island – Penelakut Island
  • Langdale – Gambier – Keats (residents only)
  • Nanaimo Harbour -  Gabriola Island
  • Buckley Bay – Denman Island – Hornby Island
  • Powell River – Texada Island
  • Campbell River – Quadra Island – Cortes Island
  • Port McNeil – Alert Bay – Sointula
  • Skidegate – Alliford Bay

For example, if you have a community soccer team traveling from Horseshoe Bay to Bowen Island, the players are eligible for free travel after you identify yourself at the ticket booth and complete the Free Travel Acknowledgement Form. Should the group be split up into individual vehicles then each driver fills out the form indicating the number of passengers eligible for the discount.

Please note for the following routes only school-sponsored travel receives the discount:

  • Tsawwassen – Swartz Bay
  • Tsawwassen – Duke Point
  • Horseshoe Bay – Departure Bay
  • Horseshoe Bay – Langdale
  • Saltery Bay – Earls Cove
  • Powell River – Comox
  • Tsawwassen – Gulf Islands
  • Port Hardy – Prince Rupert
  • Port Hardy -  Mid-Coast
  • Prince Rupert – Skidegate 

For example, a community based sports team traveling from Swartz Bay to Tsawwassen is not eligible for the discounted rate and would pay normal fare based on age. However, you may be eligible for the group rate if you have 16 or more passengers traveling together either on foot or by bus. More information on group travel can be found here:

Mailing Address
Royal City Youth Soccer Club
#291 - 720 Sixth Street
New Westminster, BC
V3L  3C5